1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

What Is Classical Hodgkin's Lymphoma?


Updated July 16, 2008

Classical Hodgkin's lymphoma is a term used to describe a group of four common types of Hodgkin's lymphoma. Together they comprise more than 90% of all Hodgkin's disease. The 4 types are:

The symptoms of lymphoma are not very different between these four types, but the patterns of enlarged lymph nodes and the stage at diagnosis may be quite different. As a result, the outcomes after treatment may also be different. An experienced pathologist can determine the exact type of Hodgkin's by examining lymph node biopsy samples under the microscope. Links to each type provides more details about that particular type of Hodgkin's lymphoma.


Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology 7th Edition. Editors: VT DeVita, S Hellman and SA Rosenberg. Published by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, 2005.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.